2017 Smart Energy Communities Awards Finalists

The 2017 Smart Energy Communities Awards will be presented at QUEST’s 11th Annual Conference and Tradeshow – Smart Energy Communities on the Hill, taking place November 6-8 at Delta Ottawa.

The Smart Energy Communities Awards are presented annually by QUEST to recognize leadership and innovation in advancing Smart Energy Communities in Canada. Smart Energy Communities improve energy efficiency, enhance reliability, cut costs, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

The Awards are presented in three principal Smart Energy Communities sectors: (1) Local Public Service Sector, (2) Real Estate Sector and (3) Utility and Energy Service Providers. The finalists in each category in alphabetical order are:



  • City of Richmond for the Alexandra District Energy Utility - a sustainable energy system.
  • City of Saint John for the Municipal Energy Efficiency Program - the first integrated energy management system in Atlantic Canada.
  • Teslin Tlingit Council for the biomass district heating system in the community of Teslin, Yukon.
  • YHC Environnement for the SAUVéR public transportation concept - an electrification of transport in Canada.
  • Energy Step Code Council for the BC Energy Step Code - a new provincial standard that provides an incremental and consistent approach to achieving more energy-efficient buildings.
  • s2e Technologies Inc. & Sifton Properties Ltd for West5 - a 70 acre community with ~2.5 million square feet of mixed-use buildings master planned to achieve net-zero energy on a community scale.
  • Windmill Development Group for Zibi - Canada’s first carbon-neutral master-planned community re-development project.
  • Alectra, Inc for the POWER.HOUSE pilot  - Canada’s first virtual power plant.
  • Saint John Energy for the installation of Energy Star Most Efficient mini split ductless heat pumps.
  • Oshawa Power and Utilities for the Solar Energy Management System.

Come and celebrate the leadership of the QUEST Smart Energy Communities Awards winners with us, register for QUEST2017 today!