2015 Awards

The QUEST Community Energy Builder Awards are presented annually to recognize leadership and innovation in advancing Smart Energy Communities in Canada. The categories reflect the three principal community energy building sectors: Utility and Energy Service Provider, Real Estate Sector, and Local Government.

QUEST is pleased to announce the Winners of the 2015 Community Energy Builder Awards, who were presented with their awards at the 9th annual QUEST Gala Dinner & Awards Ceremony. They are:
Local Government Category
City of Guelph, Ontario, for its emerging Guelph Energy Efficiency Retrofit Strategy (GEERS) as a major component of its Community Energy Initiative.
Finalists in the Local Government category were the City of Hamilton (Ontario) and The City of Toronto (Ontario).
left to right: Rob Kerr, City of Guelph, Jill Wilson, CEPA; Michael Cleland, QUEST; Alex Chapman, City of Guelph
Utility & Energy Service Providers
ENMAX Corporation, from Alberta, for the planned integration of combined heat and power at the ENMAX district energy centre which will provide savings of 14, 288 CO2 equivalent, which is equivalent to taking 2008 cars off the road annually.
Finalists in the Utility & Energy Service Providers category were Algoma Power and Sustainco.
Patrick Bohan, ENMAX (left) and Neil Freeman, Horizon Utilities (right)
Real Estate Sector Category
Windmill Developments, from Ontario, for the Eddy Condominium which offers six storeys of green, urban condos that set new standards for architecture, design and smart, healthy living in Ottawa, and which exceeds energy efficiency standards by 50% and incorporates a geo-exchange heating/cooling system.
Finalists in the Real Estate Sector category were Stanton Renaissance Ltd. and Reid's Heritage Homes.
Alex Speigel, Windmill Developments (left) and Helen Platis, Stantec (right)
QUEST congratulates the Winners and Finalists, and thanks all the many excellent nominees for their work in advancing smart energy communities in Canada. We look forward to hearing from you again next year for the 2016 Community Energy Builder Awards! 
We would also like to extend a thank you the 2015 Community Energy Builder Awards Selection Committee and to Ken Ogilvie (bio), for serving as Committee Chair.
2015 Community Energy Builder Award Sponsors: